[Information] ADN/I3/2013/NOV Gwangju Human Rights Prize

[Information] ADN/S2/2013/OCT UN Special Rapporteur of Freedom of Assembly and of Association Maina Kiai to Present Report at the UN General Assembly
March 21, 2014
[Information] ADN/I4/2013/NOV Launching of the Asia Democracy Research Network (ADRN)
March 21, 2014
Show all


Dear Friends,
Greetings from the ADN Secretariat in Seoul.
We have received exciting information from the May 18 Foundation, participating organization in the ADN Founding Assembly! We want to relay to you about their call for nominations for their Gwangju Prize for Human Rights 2014.
Please spread the word and if you know of a human rights defender that you feel is appropriate for this prize please nominate!
Two of our ADN participants, Mr. Ming Ko Naing (2009) and Mr. Sushil Pyrakurel (2010) have been past recipients of this respectable prize for their selfless works to fight for human rights and democracy.
For more information please refer to the information or the May 18th Foundation website http://eng.518.org.
In Solidarity,
On behalf of Korea Democracy Network

Follow us:
ADN Facebook: www.facebook.com/asiademocracynetwork
Twitter: @adn2013seoul


Dear Sir/Madam
The Gwangju Prize for Human Rights 2014
Every year since 2000, the May 18 Memorial Foundation (Gwangju, Republic of Korea) has announced its annual “Call for nominations for the Gwangju Prize for Human Rights”. This Prize promotes the spirit of the May 18 Democratization Movement in which the people of Gwangju resisted against brutal military forces for the sake of Democracy and Human Rights in 1980. Historically the May 18 Democratization Movement brought democracy to Korea.

The prize goes to one individual or an organization that has struggled for or contributed to the improvement and advancement of human rights, democracy and peace in their community and country.
Nominations will be collected from November 6 2013 to February 14 2014. Preliminary and final reviews of nominees will take place through February to March. The winner of the Gwangju Prize for Human Rights will be announced on the first week of April. The official prize ceremony will be held at the May 18 Memorial Culture Center, Gwangju, on May 18, 2014.
Eligibility for the Prize
1) A person or group eligible for the Gwangju Prize for Human Rights nominated by another individual or organization. An individual cannot nominate him/herself and cannot be nominated by his/her own organization.
2) A person or group who has been struggling for justice and democracy for their community and country.
3) A person or group who has contributed towards democracy and human rights movements through their work in their organization.
Policy of the Prize Committee
1) Co-winners may only be selected by the Prize Committee, not by nominators; a nominator can only submit 1 nominee.
2) Nominators cannot interfere with or participate in the Prize Committee’s selection process.
3) The Prize Committee may only disclose the amount of nominees, not the names of them.
Nomination Deadline
From November 7 2013 until February 14 2014
Laureates of the Gwangju Prize for Human Rights
2000 Kay Rala Xanana Gusmão (National Council of Timorese Resistance, East Timor)
2001 W.P.J. Basil Fernando (Asian Human Rights Commission, Sri Lanka)
2002 Korea Association of Bereaved Families for Democracy (KABFD)
2003 Dandeniya Jayanthi (Monument for the Disappeared, Sri Lanka)
2004 Aung San Suu Kyi (National League for Democracy, Burma)
2005 Wardah Hafiz (Urban Poor Consortium, Indonesia)
2006 Malalai Joya (Co-laureate, National Assembly, Afghanistan)
Angkhana Neelapaijit (Co-laureate, Human Rights Activist, Thailand)
2007 Lenin Raghuvanshi (Co-laureate, People’s Vigilance Committee on Human Rights, India)
Irom Sharmila Chanu (Co-laureate, Human Rights Activist, Manipur, India)
2008 Munir Malik (Human Rights Lawyer, Pakistan)
2009 Min Ko Naing (Democracy Movement Activist, Burma)
2010 Sushil Pyakurel (Accountability Watch Committee, Nepal)
2011 Binayak Sen (Human Rights Activist, India)
2012 Mun Jeong Hyun (Catholic Priest, Republic of Korea)
2013 Hijos e Hijas por la Identidad y la Justicia contra el Olvido y el Silencio (H.I.J.O.S., Argentina)